Whew, you made it

So you've just finished taking the Bar!

I hope it went well for you.

I remember taking the Bar and then diving in head first into the exam for professional responsibility. I had no clue how to manage that test (I hadn't learned what I know now about taking the Bar), but somehow, I did well enough on it that if I had passed the Illinois Bar, I would have made it.

Turns out it was good enough for the DC Bar.

But now that you've finished taking the Bar, get some rest. Step away from the busy grind as your working life is about to ramp up like nothing before.

Take some time to think about what went well about that experience (something did. Really!).

Take some time to think about what you hope never happens again!

Take some time to think about how you want to apply that to your legal career, because one can practice law in a way that makes you as tired, harried, high stakes, and burned out as studying for the Bar exam. Seriously. This is why so many lawyers are so profoundly dissatisfied with their careers have have high rates of addiction.

Your ability to focus and love your work is directly connected to making sure you take care of yourself, no matter the competition.

Get off the hamster wheel now where you exist on fumes and caffeine.

Set up a five-year work plan that details not only your professional success, but your personal goals for health, community, and happiness.

Stay tuned. I will be posting lots about self-care and distraction. I am here if you need a hand.

Leave a Reply

